Debt brake

1 Motivation and aim

The debt brake is designed to avert (chronic) structural imbalances in federal government finances and thereby prevent federal debt from soaring like in the 1990s. At the same time, it ensures a countercyclical fiscal policy by permitting limited cyclical deficits during downturn phases of the economic cycle and requiring surpluses when the economy is booming. The debt brake therefore addresses two classical objectives of fiscal policy: ensuring sustainable public finances and evening out economic cycle and growth fluctuations.

Nominal debt is to be stabilised over the longer term with the debt brake. If this is successful, debt in relation to aggregate value added (debt ratio) declines when the economy grows. However, within the framework of the budget and financial plan, the Federal Council and Parliament can strive for a more ambitious target in the sense of a nominal decline in debt. The debt brake is laid down in Article 126 of the Federal Constitution. The details are set out in Articles 13 to 18 of the Financial Budget Act (SR 611.0). The constitutional article was accepted with a "yes" vote of 85% in the referendum of 2 December 2001.

2 How it works and its components

The expenditure rule

The cornerstone of the debt brake consists of a simple expenditure rule: the annual ceiling for ordinary expenditure is linked to the amount of ordinary receipts. To ensure that cyclical fluctuations in receipts are not transferred to the expenditure ceiling, receipts are adjusted by the cyclical factor, which takes account of the economic situation. It can be understood as a function of the output gap and is defined as the ratio of trend gross domestic product (trend GDP) to current GDP. Since trend GDP is not an observable indicator, it has to be estimated. With effect from the 2021 financial statements, the FFA has been using the production function and output gap calculated by SECO for this purpose (SECO production function and output gap). When the economy is booming, the cyclical factor causes the expenditure ceiling to be lower than receipts and the Confederation generates a financing surplus. Conversely, the formula tolerates a deficit in times of recession. The expenditure rule acts independently of the amount of the tax burden. It thus permits tax hikes as well as tax cuts. However, a tax reduction has to be accompanied by expenditure cuts.

Extraordinary expenditure

The Federal Council and Parliament are bound by the expenditure rule of the debt brake. Nevertheless, additional extraordinary expenditure is possible in exceptional situations that cannot be controlled by the Confederation, such as severe recessions and natural disasters. In such cases, a qualified majority of both chambers of Parliament is required to increase the expenditure ceiling. The possibility of extraordinary expenditure makes it possible to react to exceptional situations.

Compensation account for the ordinary budget

The debt brake requirements for the ordinary budget have to be taken into account when preparing the budget and the subsequent supplementary credits. As soon as the financial statements are available, compliance with the requirements is checked: the maximum permissible expenditure is recalculated based on the receipts actually earned and the revised economic forecasts. If the expenditure actually incurred exceeds the recalculated expenditure ceiling, the excess is debited to the so-called compensation account; any amounts below the expenditure ceiling are credited to the compensation account. Forecasting errors regarding receipts and economic growth also cause the compensation account to be debited or credited, as they result in expenditure ceilings that are too high or too low. Any deficit in the compensation account has to be eliminated in subsequent years. This is not possible in the case of surpluses; they are used to reduce debt.

Amortisation account for the extraordinary budget

The extraordinary budget is subject to the debt brake too. The extended debt brake rule requires deficits in the extraordinary budget to be offset via the ordinary budget in the medium term. An amortisation account serves as a control parameter. It records extraordinary receipts and expenditure. Expenditure surpluses have to be paid off over the course of the subsequent six accounting years by means of surpluses in the ordinary budget. If the shortfall is foreseeable, the necessary savings can be made earlier.

3 Experience

Experience to date of fiscal policy management with the debt brake shows that the desired objectives have been achieved. After it was first applied to the 2003 budget, the Federal Council and Parliament quickly managed to re-establish a structural balance. The Confederation's finances have not shown a structural deficit since 2006. This development is reflected in the significant reduction in debt, with the Confederation's debt ratio falling from 25.3% (2003) to 13.3% (2019). Aside from the debt brake, the dynamic economic growth and increase in receipts were also responsible for the positive development of the federal finances. The high extraordinary expenditure to deal with the COVID-19 pandemic led to an increase in the debt ratio once again in 2021, bringing it to 14.8%. At the same time, the debt brake demonstrated that it provides the necessary flexibility for the Confederation to react appropriately and quickly to crises. Moreover, the Confederation's fiscal policy has become more in line with the economic situation since the introduction of the debt brake. Cyclical deficits support aggregate demand in the economy and thus help to stabilise economic growth. The opposite happens when the economy is booming. Due to the severe economic downturn, the COVID-19 pandemic also revealed the weaknesses of the previous method for calculating the cyclical cycle factor. Consequently, the cyclical factor has been calculated using the SECO production function since 2021.

4 Outlook

The Confederation's high extraordinary expenditure led to a deficit in the amortisation account, which will have to be eliminated again. The Confederation's debt is thus likely to fall again in the future. As a result, the Confederation's ability to withstand crises will be increased again and interest expenditure reduced, which in turn will provide greater fiscal policy leeway. The FDF's long-term outlook shows that the ageing population will place the main burden on public finances over the next 30 years. Major challenges include the financing of retirement provision and long-term care. Climate change is also likely to have a negative impact. The debt brake cannot solve such structural problems. By contrast, a further reduction in the Confederation's debt ratio can provide the best possible basis for future generations.

5 Publications

Further reports are available in the following language versions:

DE

FR

Last modification 30.03.2022

Top of page

https://www.efv.admin.ch/content/efv/en/home/themen/finanzpolitik_grundlagen/schuldenbremse.html

Schuldenbremse

1 Motivation und Ziel

Die Schuldenbremse soll den Bundeshaushalt vor strukturellen (chronischen) Ungleichgewichten bewahren und damit verhindern, dass die Bundesschuld ansteigt wie in den 1990er Jahren. Gleichzeitig gewährleistet sie eine antizyklische Fiskalpolitik, in dem sie in Abschwungphasen begrenzte konjunkturelle Defizite zulässt und in Phasen der Hochkonjunktur Rechnungsüberschüsse verlangt. Die Schuldenbremse adressiert somit zwei klassische Ziele der Finanzpolitik: Die Tragfähigkeit der öffentlichen Finanzen sowie den Ausgleich von Konjunktur- und Wachstumsschwankungen.

Mit der Schuldenbremse sollen die nominellen Schulden auf Dauer stabilisiert werden. Gelingt dies, so nehmen die Schulden im Verhältnis zur volkswirtschaftlichen Wertschöpfung (Schuldenquote) ab, wenn die Volkswirtschaft wächst. Bundesrat und Parlament können jedoch im Rahmen von Budget und Finanzplan ein ehrgeizigeres Ziel im Sinne eines nominellen Schuldenabbaus anstreben. Die Schuldenbremse ist in Artikel 126 der Bundesverfassung festgeschrieben. Die Details sind im Finanzhaushaltgesetz geregelt (Artikel 13–18 FHG; SR 611.0). Der Verfassungsartikel wurde in der Volksabstimmung vom 2. Dezember 2001 mit 85 Prozent Ja-Stimmen angenommen.  

2 Funktionsweise und Elemente

Die Ausgabenregel

Das Kernstück der Schuldenbremse besteht aus einer einfachen Ausgabenregel: Der jährliche Plafond für die ordentlichen Ausgaben wird an die Höhe der ordentlichen Einnahmen gebunden. Damit sich die konjunkturbedingten Einnahmenschwankungen nicht auf den Ausgabenplafond übertragen, werden die Einnahmen dabei um einen Faktor korrigiert, der die konjunkturelle Lage berücksichtigt, den sogenannten Konjunkturfaktor. Er kann als Funktion der Produktionslücke verstanden werden und ist definiert als das Verhältnis vom Trend des Bruttoinlandprodukts (Trend-BIP) zum aktuellen BIP. Da das Trend-BIP eine nicht beobachtbare Grösse ist, muss es geschätzt werden. Seit der Rechnung 2021 verwendet die EFV dafür die vom SECO berechnete Produktionsfunktion und Produktionslücke (SECO-Produktionsfunktion und Produktionslücke). In Phasen der Hochkonjunktur bewirkt der Konjunkturfaktor, dass der Ausgabenplafond unter den Einnahmen liegt und der Bund einen Finanzierungsüberschuss erwirtschaften muss. Umgekehrt lässt die Formel in Rezessionen ein Defizit zu. Die Ausgabenregel wirkt unabhängig von der Höhe der Steuerbelastung. Sie lässt somit Steuererhöhungen und Steuersenkungen zu. Eine Steuersenkung muss aber mit Ausgabensenkungen einhergehen.

Ausserordentliche Ausgaben

Die Ausgabenregel der Schuldenbremse bindet den Bundesrat und das Parlament. In aussergewöhnlichen und vom Bund nicht steuerbaren Situationen – beispielsweise schweren Rezessionen oder Naturkatastrophen – sind jedoch zusätzliche, ausserordentliche Ausgaben möglich. Das Parlament muss dazu den Ausgabenplafond mit einem qualifizierten Mehr beider Räte erhöhen. Die Möglichkeit für ausserordentliche Ausgaben erlaubt es, auf Ausnahmesituationen zu reagieren.

Ausgleichskonto für den ordentlichen Haushalt

Die Vorgaben der Schuldenbremse für den ordentlichen Haushalt müssen bei der Erstellung des Budgets und den späteren Kreditnachträgen berücksichtigt werden. Sobald der Rechnungsabschluss vorliegt, wird die Einhaltung der Vorgaben überprüft: Auf Basis der tatsächlich erzielten Einnahmen sowie der revidierten Wirtschaftsprognosen werden die höchstzulässigen Ausgaben neu berechnet. Überschreiten die effektiv getätigten Ausgaben den neu berechneten Ausgabenplafonds, wird die Differenz dem sogenannten Ausgleichskonto belastet, Unterschreitungen werden ihm gutgeschrieben. Zu Belastungen bzw. Gutschriften auf dem Ausgleichskonto führen auch Schätzfehler bei Einnahmen und Wirtschaftswachstum, da diese zu hohe oder zu tiefe Ausgabenplafonds zur Folge haben. Ergibt sich auf dem Ausgleichskonto ein Fehlbetrag, muss dieser in den Folgejahren abgebaut werden. Im Falle von Überschüssen ist dies nicht möglich; sie fliessen in den Schuldenabbau.

Amortisationskonto für den ausserordentlichen Haushalt

Auch der ausserordentliche Haushalt ist der Schuldenbremse unterworfen. Die «Ergänzungsregel» verlangt, dass die Defizite des ausserordentlichen Haushalts mittelfristig über den ordentlichen Haushalt kompensiert werden. Als Steuerungsgrösse dient ein Amortisationskonto. Es erfasst die ausserordentlichen Einnahmen und Ausgaben. Ausgabenüberschüsse sind während der sechs folgenden Rechnungsjahre durch Überschüsse im ordentlichen Haushalt abzutragen. Ist der Fehlbetrag voraussehbar, können die notwendigen Einsparungen bereits früher vorgenommen werden.  

3 Erfahrungen

Die bisherigen Erfahrungen mit der finanzpolitischen Steuerung durch die Schuldenbremse zeigen, dass die angestrebten Ziele erreicht wurden. Nach der erstmaligen Anwendung auf das Budget 2003 gelang es Bundesrat und Parlament rasch, den Haushalt in ein strukturelles Gleichgewicht zu bringen. Seit 2006 weist der Bundeshaushalt keine strukturellen Defizite mehr auf. Diese Entwicklung widerspiegelt sich in der deutlichen Schuldenreduktion. Die Schuldenquote des Bundes ist von 25,3 Prozent (2003) auf 13,3 Prozent (2019) zurückgegangen. Die positive Entwicklung der Bundesfinanzen war neben der Schuldenbremse der dynamischen Wirtschafts- bzw. Einnahmenentwicklung zu verdanken. Die hohen ausserordentlichen Ausgaben zur Bewältigung der Corona-Pandemie führten wieder zu einem Anstieg der Schuldenquote (2021: 14,8 %). Gleichzeitig zeigte sich, dass die Schuldenbremse die nötige Flexibilität gibt, damit der Bund angemessen und rasch auf Krisen reagieren kann. Zudem ist die Finanzpolitik des Bundes seit der Einführung der Schuldenbremse konjunkturgerechter geworden. Die konjunkturellen Defizite stützen die volkswirtschaftliche Gesamtnachfrage und leisten damit einen Beitrag zu einer Stabilisierung der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung. Das Gegenteil geschieht in Phasen der Hochkonjunktur. Die Corona-Pandemie hat durch den starken Wirtschaftseinbruch auch die Schwächen der bisherigen Berechnung des Konjunkturfaktors offengelegt. Aus diesem Grund wird der Konjunkturfaktor seit 2021 mit der Produktionsfunktion des SECO berechnet.

4 Ausblick

Die hohen ausserordentlichen Ausgaben des Bundes führten zu einem Fehlbetrag des Amortisationskontos, der wieder ausgeglichen werden muss. Die Schulden des Bundes dürften deshalb in Zukunft wieder sinken. Die Krisenresistenz des Bundes wird damit wieder erhöht und die Zinsausgaben gesenkt, was wiederum den finanzpolitischen Handlungsspielraum vergrössert. Die Langfristperspektiven des EFD zeigen, dass die Staatsfinanzen in den nächsten dreissig Jahren vor allem durch die älter werdende Bevölkerung belastet werden. Grosse Herausforderungen sind die Finanzierung der Altersvorsorge und des Pflegebereichs. Auch der Klimawandel dürfte sich negativ auswirken. Solche strukturellen Probleme kann die Schuldenbremse nicht lösen. Hingegen kann für die kommenden Generationen mit einer weiteren Senkung der Schuldenquote des Bundes eine möglichst gute Ausgangslage geschaffen werden.

5 Publikationen

Abbau der Corona-Schulden

Berechnung Konjunkturfaktor

Letzte Änderung 21.04.2022

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.efv.admin.ch/content/efv/de/home/themen/finanzpolitik_grundlagen/schuldenbremse.html