Debt brake

1 Motivation and aim

The debt brake is designed to avert (chronic) structural imbalances in federal government finances and thereby prevent federal debt from soaring like in the 1990s. At the same time, it ensures a countercyclical fiscal policy by permitting limited cyclical deficits during downturn phases of the economic cycle and requiring surpluses when the economy is booming. The debt brake therefore addresses two classical objectives of fiscal policy: ensuring sustainable public finances and evening out economic cycle and growth fluctuations.

Nominal debt is to be stabilised over the longer term with the debt brake. If this is successful, debt in relation to aggregate value added (debt ratio) declines when the economy grows. However, within the framework of the budget and financial plan, the Federal Council and Parliament can strive for a more ambitious target in the sense of a nominal decline in debt. The debt brake is laid down in Article 126 of the Federal Constitution. The details are set out in Articles 13 to 18 of the Financial Budget Act (SR 611.0). The constitutional article was accepted with a "yes" vote of 85% in the referendum of 2 December 2001.

2 How it works and its components

The expenditure rule

The cornerstone of the debt brake consists of a simple expenditure rule: the annual ceiling for ordinary expenditure is linked to the amount of ordinary receipts. To ensure that cyclical fluctuations in receipts are not transferred to the expenditure ceiling, receipts are adjusted by the cyclical factor, which takes account of the economic situation. It can be understood as a function of the output gap and is defined as the ratio of trend gross domestic product (trend GDP) to current GDP. Since trend GDP is not an observable indicator, it has to be estimated. With effect from the 2021 financial statements, the FFA has been using the production function and output gap calculated by SECO for this purpose (SECO production function and output gap). When the economy is booming, the cyclical factor causes the expenditure ceiling to be lower than receipts and the Confederation generates a financing surplus. Conversely, the formula tolerates a deficit in times of recession. The expenditure rule acts independently of the amount of the tax burden. It thus permits tax hikes as well as tax cuts. However, a tax reduction has to be accompanied by expenditure cuts.

Extraordinary expenditure

The Federal Council and Parliament are bound by the expenditure rule of the debt brake. Nevertheless, additional extraordinary expenditure is possible in exceptional situations that cannot be controlled by the Confederation, such as severe recessions and natural disasters. In such cases, a qualified majority of both chambers of Parliament is required to increase the expenditure ceiling. The possibility of extraordinary expenditure makes it possible to react to exceptional situations.

Compensation account for the ordinary budget

The debt brake requirements for the ordinary budget have to be taken into account when preparing the budget and the subsequent supplementary credits. As soon as the financial statements are available, compliance with the requirements is checked: the maximum permissible expenditure is recalculated based on the receipts actually earned and the revised economic forecasts. If the expenditure actually incurred exceeds the recalculated expenditure ceiling, the excess is debited to the so-called compensation account; any amounts below the expenditure ceiling are credited to the compensation account. Forecasting errors regarding receipts and economic growth also cause the compensation account to be debited or credited, as they result in expenditure ceilings that are too high or too low. Any deficit in the compensation account has to be eliminated in subsequent years. This is not possible in the case of surpluses; they are used to reduce debt.

Amortisation account for the extraordinary budget

The extraordinary budget is subject to the debt brake too. The extended debt brake rule requires deficits in the extraordinary budget to be offset via the ordinary budget in the medium term. An amortisation account serves as a control parameter. It records extraordinary receipts and expenditure. Expenditure surpluses have to be paid off over the course of the subsequent six accounting years by means of surpluses in the ordinary budget. If the shortfall is foreseeable, the necessary savings can be made earlier.

3 Experience

Experience to date of fiscal policy management with the debt brake shows that the desired objectives have been achieved. After it was first applied to the 2003 budget, the Federal Council and Parliament quickly managed to re-establish a structural balance. The Confederation's finances have not shown a structural deficit since 2006. This development is reflected in the significant reduction in debt, with the Confederation's debt ratio falling from 25.3% (2003) to 13.3% (2019). Aside from the debt brake, the dynamic economic growth and increase in receipts were also responsible for the positive development of the federal finances. The high extraordinary expenditure to deal with the COVID-19 pandemic led to an increase in the debt ratio once again in 2021, bringing it to 14.8%. At the same time, the debt brake demonstrated that it provides the necessary flexibility for the Confederation to react appropriately and quickly to crises. Moreover, the Confederation's fiscal policy has become more in line with the economic situation since the introduction of the debt brake. Cyclical deficits support aggregate demand in the economy and thus help to stabilise economic growth. The opposite happens when the economy is booming. Due to the severe economic downturn, the COVID-19 pandemic also revealed the weaknesses of the previous method for calculating the cyclical cycle factor. Consequently, the cyclical factor has been calculated using the SECO production function since 2021.

4 Outlook

The Confederation's high extraordinary expenditure led to a deficit in the amortisation account, which will have to be eliminated again. The Confederation's debt is thus likely to fall again in the future. As a result, the Confederation's ability to withstand crises will be increased again and interest expenditure reduced, which in turn will provide greater fiscal policy leeway. The FDF's long-term outlook shows that the ageing population will place the main burden on public finances over the next 30 years. Major challenges include the financing of retirement provision and long-term care. Climate change is also likely to have a negative impact. The debt brake cannot solve such structural problems. By contrast, a further reduction in the Confederation's debt ratio can provide the best possible basis for future generations.

5 Publications

Further reports are available in the following language versions:

DE

FR

Last modification 30.03.2022

Top of page

https://www.efv.admin.ch/content/efv/en/home/themen/finanzpolitik_grundlagen/schuldenbremse.html

Frein à l'endettement

1 Raison d'être et objectif

Le frein à l'endettement a pour but de prévenir les déséquilibres structurels (chroniques) des finances fédérales et d'empêcher ainsi une croissance de la dette telle qu'elle s'est produite durant les années 1990. Parallèlement, il garantit une politique budgétaire anticyclique en autorisant des déficits conjoncturels limités en période de repli économique et en exigeant des excédents en période de haute conjoncture. Il vise ainsi deux objectifs classiques de la politique budgétaire: des finances publiques saines et la compensation des fluctuations de la conjoncture et de la croissance.

Le frein à l'endettement sert à stabiliser la dette nominale à terme, ce qui permet, en période de croissance économique, de réduire le rapport entre la dette et la valeur ajoutée de l'économie (taux d'endettement). Le Conseil fédéral et le Parlement peuvent toutefois, dans le cadre de l'établissement du budget et de la planification financière, poursuivre un objectif plus ambitieux en vue de réduire la dette en termes nominaux. Le frein à l'endettement est inscrit à l'art. 126 de la Constitution. Les détails figurent aux art. 13 à 18 de la loi sur les finances (LFC; RS 611.0). L'art. 126 a été accepté lors de la votation populaire du 2 décembre 2001 avec une majorité de 85 % des voix.  

2 Fonctionnement et principes

La règle des dépenses

La pièce maîtresse du frein à l'endettement est constituée par une règle des dépenses simple: le plafond annuel des dépenses ordinaires est fixé en fonction du montant des recettes ordinaires. Afin que les fluctuations conjoncturelles des recettes ne se répercutent pas sur le plafond des dépenses, les recettes sont corrigées d'un facteur qui tient compte de la situation conjoncturelle, appelé facteur conjoncturel. Pouvant être compris comme étant fonction de l'écart de production, ce facteur reflète le rapport entre la tendance du PIB et le PIB actuel. Comme la tendance du PIB est une variable non observable, elle doit être estimée. Depuis le compte 2021, l'AFF utilise à cet effet la fonction de production et l'écart de production calculés par le SECO (fonction de production et écart de production du SECO). Lorsque l'économie affiche une croissance supérieure à la moyenne, le facteur conjoncturel implique que le plafond des dépenses est inférieur aux recettes et que la Confédération doit enregistrer un excédent de financement. À l'inverse, cette formule autorise un déficit en période de récession. La règle des dépenses vaut indépendamment du niveau de la charge fiscale. Elle autorise par conséquent aussi bien des relèvements d'impôts que des allégements fiscaux. Ces derniers doivent cependant s'accompagner d'une réduction des dépenses.

Dépenses extraordinaires

La règle des dépenses du frein à l'endettement lie le Conseil fédéral et le Parlement. En cas d'événements extraordinaires échappant au contrôle de la Confédération, tels que de graves récessions ou des catastrophes naturelles, il est toutefois possible d'effectuer des dépenses extraordinaires. Pour ce faire, le Parlement doit relever le plafond des dépenses à la majorité qualifiée dans chacune des deux chambres. La possibilité de faire face à des dépenses extraordinaires permet de réagir à des situations exceptionnelles.

Compte de compensation pour le budget ordinaire

Les impératifs du frein à l'endettement doivent être pris en compte lors de l'établissement du budget ordinaire et des suppléments de crédit. Après la clôture du compte, on vérifie que les impératifs du frein à l'endettement ont été respectés: les dépenses maximales autorisées sont recalculées en fonction des recettes effectivement réalisées et des prévisions économiques révisées. Les dépassements du plafond des dépenses recalculé sont portés au débit du compte de compensation. À l'inverse, lorsque les dépenses effectives se situent en deçà du plafond des dépenses, la différence est créditée sur ce compte. Le compte de compensation prend également en considération, sous forme de charges ou de bonifications, les erreurs d'estimation des recettes et les pronostics erronés quant à la croissance économique qui ont conduit à fixer un plafond des dépenses trop élevé ou insuffisant. Si ce compte affiche un découvert, celui-ci doit être éliminé durant les années suivantes. En revanche, s'il présente un excédent, ce dernier est utilisé pour réduire la dette.

Compte d'amortissement pour le budget extraordinaire

Le budget extraordinaire est lui aussi soumis au frein à l'endettement. Le principe de la «règle complémentaire» consiste à compenser à moyen terme les déficits du budget extraordinaire par le biais du budget ordinaire. À cet effet, un compte d'amortissement sert d'instrument de pilotage du budget extraordinaire. Ce compte englobe les recettes et les dépenses extraordinaires. Les excédents de dépenses devront être compensés par des excédents dans le budget ordinaire sur les six exercices comptables suivants. Si le découvert est prévisible, les économies correspondantes pourront être réalisées à l'avance.  

3 Expériences

Les expériences faites jusqu'à présent avec la gestion de la politique budgétaire au moyen du frein à l'endettement montrent que les objectifs fixés ont été atteints. Dès la première application du frein à l'endettement au budget 2003, le Conseil fédéral et le Parlement sont parvenus à rétablir rapidement l'équilibre structurel des finances fédérales. Depuis 2006, le budget fédéral ne présente plus aucun déficit structurel. Cette évolution se reflète dans la nette réduction de la dette. Le taux d'endettement de la Confédération est passé de 25,3 % en 2003 à 13,3 % en 2019. L'évolution favorable des finances de la Confédération était due non seulement au frein à l'endettement, mais aussi au dynamisme de l'évolution de l'économie et des recettes. Les dépenses extraordinaires importantes requises pour faire face à la pandémie de COVID-19 ont entraîné une nouvelle hausse du taux d'endettement (14,8 % en 2021). Néanmoins, le frein à l'endettement offre la souplesse nécessaire pour que la Confédération puisse réagir de manière rapide et appropriée aux crises. Depuis l'introduction du frein à l'endettement, la politique budgétaire de la Confédération tient davantage compte de la situation conjoncturelle. Les déficits conjoncturels maintiennent la demande économique globale, contribuant ainsi à stabiliser l'évolution économique. La situation inverse se présente en période de haute conjoncture. En raison du fort repli économique, la pandémie a aussi mis en évidence les faiblesses du calcul du facteur conjoncturel utilisé jusqu'à présent. C'est pourquoi, depuis 2021, le facteur conjoncturel est calculé avec la fonction de production du SECO.

4 Perspectives

Les dépenses extraordinaires élevées consenties par la Confédération ont entraîné un découvert du compte d'amortissement, qui doit être compensé. La dette de la Confédération devrait donc diminuer à l'avenir. La baisse de l'endettement permettra de renforcer la résistance de la Confédération face aux crises et de réduire les dépenses d'intérêts, ce qui se traduira, en fin de compte, par une augmentation de la marge de manœuvre budgétaire. Les perspectives à long terme du DFF montrent que le vieillissement de la population en particulier pèsera sur les finances publiques durant les trente prochaines années. Le financement de la prévoyance vieillesse et celui du secteur des soins représentent des défis majeurs. Le changement climatique aura probablement aussi un impact négatif sur les finances publiques. Or le frein à l'endettement ne peut pas résoudre ce genre de problèmes structurels. En revanche, une nouvelle baisse du taux d'endettement de la Confédération pourra créer un contexte aussi favorable que possible.

5 Publications

Réduction de l'endettement lié au coronavirus

Calcul du facteur conjoncturel

Dernière modification 31.03.2022

Début de la page

https://www.efv.admin.ch/content/efv/fr/home/themen/finanzpolitik_grundlagen/schuldenbremse.html