Accounting model of the Confederation (NAM)

The accounting model essentially follows the model commonly used in the private sector, with a statement of financial performance, statement of financial position, financing and flow of funds statement and notes, and is based on the International Public Sector Accounting Standards (IPSAS). The aim of financial statements prepared in accordance with the IPSAS – the only comprehensive and generally accepted set of guidelines for the public sector – is to present the actual situation as accurately as possible in terms of assets, finances and revenue. This ensures transparency and continuity in financial reporting, but also makes it possible to compare the federal financial statements with those of other public authorities and the private sector. Transparency and comparability in turn support financial management and build confidence among the public. Article 126 of the Federal Constitution, the Financial Budget Act and the Financial Budget Ordinance form the legal basis for the accounting model. The accounting model highlights financial processes and relationships from a dual perspective (dual control principle), i.e. from the performance and the financing approach. The dual perspective enables operational and administrative management to be considered separately from the politico-strategic management side.

  1. The performance approach shows the expenses (decline in value) and revenue (increase in value) generated within the scope of task performance. It forms the basis not only for budgeting (credit view) and financial reporting, but also for administrative and operational management. Values are allocated to the period in which they are created or consumed (accrual accounting and budgeting). In the statement of financial performance, the expenses of a given accounting year are set against the revenue generated in the same period. Their balance shows the surplus or deficit for the year.

    To promote efficiency, the statement of financial performance is supplemented by cost accounting at the level of the administrative units. Consistently decentralized credit responsibility and internal federal service charging promote a sense of cost awareness and the economical use of funds.

  2. The financing approach is decisive for the overall steering of the federal budget. It forms the link to the debt brake, which should ensure a lasting balance between expenditure and receipts and avert a structural imbalance in the federal budget. The debt brake is based on the expenditure rule, which states that the amount of money available for total expenditure is limited to the receipts generated by the Confederation with standard economic capacity utilization. This means that receipts have to cover expenditure over an economic cycle. Under the extended debt brake rule, the Confederation is also obliged to offset extraordinary expenditure in the budget over the medium term. The financing statement thus contains expenses and revenue with a financing effect as well as investment expenditure and receipts.  

Last modification 18.05.2016

Top of page

https://www.efv.admin.ch/content/efv/en/home/themen/finanzpolitik_grundlagen/rechnungsmodell.html

Modèle comptable

Le modèle comptable de la Confédération s’inspire pour l’essentiel du modèle utilisé dans l’économie privée, qui comprend un compte de résultats, un bilan, un compte de financement et une annexe. Il est régi par les normes comptables internationales du secteur public (International Public Sector Accounting Standards, IPSAS), la seule réglementation exhaustive et généralisée en vigueur dans le secteur public. La tenue de la comptabilité selon les normes IPSAS a pour but de donner une image fidèle de l’état de la fortune, des finances et des revenus. Tout en conférant aux comptes la transparence et la continuité voulues, l’application de ces normes permet également de comparer les comptes de la Confédération à ceux d’autres collectivités publiques et de l’économie privée. A leur tour, la transparence et la comparabilité des comptes facilitent la gestion financière et favorisent la confiance publique. Les bases légales du modèle comptable de la Confédération sont données par l’art. 126 de la Constitution, par la loi sur les finances et par l’ordonnance sur les finances de la Confédération.

Le modèle comptable de la Confédération présente les processus budgétaires et la situation financière dans une double perspective (gestion duale), soit du point de vue des résultats et de celui du financement. Cette double perspective permet de distinguer clairement la gestion opérationnelle des entreprises et des administrations du pilotage stratégique et politique.

  1. La perspective des résultats rend compte des charges liées à l’accomplissement des tâches (consommation de valeurs) et des revenus (acquisition de valeurs). Elle est à la base non seulement de l’établissement du budget (aperçu des crédits) et des rapports sur l’état des finances, mais également de la gestion des entreprises et des administrations. Les valeurs sont comptabilisées à la période où elles sont consommées ou acquises (méthode de la comptabilité et du budget d’exercice; accrual accounting and budgeting). Le compte de résultats met en parallèle les charges d’un exercice comptable et les revenus perçus durant la même période. Son solde correspond au résultat annuel, c’est-à-dire à l’excédent de charges ou de revenus.

    En vue d’améliorer la rentabilité, le compte de résultats est complété par la comptabilité analytique tenue par les unités administratives. La délégation aux unités concernées de la responsabilité de gérer les crédits et l’imputation des prestations interne à la Confédération favorisent la sensibilité aux coûts et l’utilisation économe des ressources.

  2. La perspective du financement est primordiale pour la gestion globale des finances de la Confédération, car elle établit le lien avec le frein à l’endettement. Ce dernier vise à assurer l’équilibre durable entre les dépenses et les recettes et à empêcher ainsi tout déséquilibre structurel des finances fédérales. Le frein à l’endettement se fonde sur une règle concernant les dépenses: seul le montant des recettes encaissées par la Confédération en situation conjoncturelle normale peut être dépensé. En d’autres termes, les recettes doivent couvrir les dépenses sur l’ensemble d’un cycle conjoncturel. En vertu de la règle complétant le frein à l’endettement, la Confédération est tenue d’équilibrer le budget à moyen terme même pour les dépenses extraordinaires. Le compte de financement présente donc les charges et revenus ayant des incidences financières, de même que les dépenses et recettes d’investissement.

Dernière modification 17.06.2016

Début de la page

https://www.efv.admin.ch/content/efv/fr/home/themen/finanzpolitik_grundlagen/rechnungsmodell.html