Debt brake

The federal budget from a debt brake viewpoint

in CHF bn

The federal budget from a debt brake viewpoint

Despite high growth rates, the Swiss economy is unlikely to reach its potential output in 2022. Following the severe economic downturn caused by the COVID-19 crisis in 2020, economic output will thus remain slightly below its long-term trend in 2022 and subsequent years.

The ordinary fiscal balance is neutral in the 2022 budget. However, a deficit of 0.6 billion would be permissible in cyclical terms. As in previous years, this structural leeway will be used to offset the shortfall in the amortization account. The amortization account provides the debt brake control statistics for the extraordinary budget. The extraordinary expenditure to deal with the COVID-19 pandemic caused the statistics to move into negative territory at the end of 2020 (-9.8 bn). The shortfall is likely to rise to 25 billion by 2022, according to current estimates. The Federal Council intends to partially offset this shortfall by recognizing a maximum of 1.3 billion of supplementary distributions by the Swiss National Bank (SNB) as extraordinary receipts from 2021.

The ordinary budget is more or less balanced in the financial plan years of 2023 to 2025 as well, while the cyclically permissible financing deficits are set to fall. As things currently stand, the debt brake requirements will be missed by a narrow margin in 2024. However, the anticipated structural financing deficit is small (-85 mn).

Downloads

Last modification 12.08.2021

Top of page

https://www.efv.admin.ch/content/efv/en/home/finanzberichterstattung/bundeshaushalt_ueb/schuldenbremse.html

Schuldenbremse

Der Bundeshaushalt aus Sicht der Schuldenbremse

in Mrd. CHF

Der Bundeshaushalt aus Sicht der Schuldenbremse

Trotz hoher Wachstumsraten dürfte die Schweizer Wirtschaft im Jahr 2022 noch nicht ihr Produktionspotential erreichen. Nach dem starken Wirtschaftseinbruch infolge der Corona-Krise im Jahr 2020, bleibt die Wirtschaftsleistung damit im Jahr 2022 und in den Folgejahren leicht unter dem langfristigen Trend.

Im Budget 2022 ist das ordentliche Finanzierungsergebnis ausgeglichen. Konjunkturell zulässig wäre jedoch ein Defizit von 0,6 Milliarden. Dieser strukturelle Handlungsspielraum wird wie in den Vorjahren zum Ausgleich des Fehlbetrags auf dem Amortisationskonto verwendet. Das Amortisationskonto ist die Kontrollstatistik der Schuldenbremse für den ausserordentlichen Haushalt. Aufgrund der ausserordentlichen Ausgaben zur Bewältigung der Corona-Pandemie ist die Statistik Ende 2020 in den negativen Bereich gefallen (-9,8 Mrd.). Bis 2022 dürfte der Fehlbetrag gemäss den aktuellen Schätzungen weiter steigen und 25 Milliarden erreichen. Der Bundesrat will diesen Fehlbetrag teilweise ausgleichen, indem die Zusatzausschüttung der Schweizerischen Nationalbank (SNB) von maximal 1,3 Milliarden ab 2021 als ausserordentliche Einnahme verbucht wird.

Auch in den Finanzplanjahren 2023–2025 ist der ordentliche Haushalt in etwa ausgeglichen, während die konjunkturell zulässigen Finanzierungsdefizite zurückgehen. Im Jahr 2024 werden die Vorgaben der Schuldenbremse aus heutiger Sicht knapp verfehlt. Das erwartete strukturelle Finanzierungsdefizit ist jedoch gering (-85 Mio.).

Downloads

Letzte Änderung 05.08.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.efv.admin.ch/content/efv/de/home/finanzberichterstattung/bundeshaushalt_ueb/schuldenbremse.html