Companies and institutions

The legal definition of those federal companies and institutions that the Federal Council manages in accordance with the ownership policy principles of the Corporate Governance Report (CG guidelines (PDF, 138 kB, 04.06.2021)) can be found in Article 8 paragraph 5 of the Government and Administration Organisation Act. This includes all those units which (1) have legal personality, (2) are not part of the central Federal Administration, (3) are controlled by the Confederation by virtue of its capital and voting rights or were created under federal legislation and (4) are delegated to perform federal administrative duties; in addition, there is the ETH Domain, which has no legal personality of its own. In concrete terms, this portfolio currently comprises 19 units, including market service providers such as Swisscom and RUAG, monopoly service providers such as the ETH Domain and Swiss Export Risk Insurance SERV, as well as institutions responsible for economic and safety supervision such as FINMA and ENSI. The following list provides a complete overview with web links to the main legal framework of the individual units.

ETH Domain (EAER)
The organisational legal framework is found in the ETH Act. The ETH Domain is managed according to the strategic objectives of the Federal Council. The basic principles of employment for employees of the ETH Domain are regulated in the ETH Personnel Ordinance. The ETH Professorial Ordinance regulates the employment conditions for the ETH teaching staff. The employment conditions for assistants and scientific employees are found in the Ordinance governing scientific employees of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich.
The basic principles regarding fees can be found in the Fees Ordinance of the ETH Domain.

Swiss Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (SFIVET) (EAER)
The organisational legal framework of the SFIVET is found in Article 48 paragraph 4 of the Vocational and Professional Education and Training Act and in the SFIVET Ordinance. The Federal Council manages the SFIVET according to strategic objectives. The SFIVET Personnel Ordinance governs employment conditions at the SFIVET. The SFIVET Fees Ordinance defines the fees charged by the SFIVET for its training courses and services.

Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property (IPI) (FDJP)
The Federal Act on the Statutes and Tasks of the Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property (IPI) and the Organisation Ordinance (IPI-OO) form the organisational legal framework of the IPI. The basic principles of employment are found in the Ordinance on the Staff Charter of the Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property (IPI-SCO). The Fees Ordinance of the Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property applies to fees charged by the Institute for its sovereign activities.

Federal Institute of Metrology (METAS) (FDJP)
The organisational legal framework of the Institute is the Federal Act on the Federal Institute of Metrology, which has been in force since 1 January 2013. The Federal Council manages the Institution according to strategic objectives.

Swiss Federal Nuclear Safety Inspectorate ENSI (DETEC)
The organisational legal framework of the ENSI is the Federal Act on the Swiss Federal Nuclear Safety Inspectorate (ENSIA). As a federal institution in the area of economic and safety supervision, the ENSI has increased autonomy; its strategic objectives are defined by the ENSI Board. The ENSI Personnel Regulations govern the employment conditions for ENSI employees. The ENSI Fees Ordinance governs the fees for ENSI's decrees, services, supervisory activities and supervisory duties.

Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority FINMA (FDF)
The organisational legal framework is found in the Financial Market Supervision Act FINMASA. As a federal institution in the area of economic and safety supervision, FINMA has increased autonomy; its strategic objectives are defined by its Board of Directors and approved by the Federal Council. The employment conditions for FINMA employees are governed by the FINMA Personnel Ordinance. The FINMA Fees and Levies Ordinance governs the collection of fees and supervisory levies by FINMA.

Federal Audit Oversight Authority (FDJP)
The organisational legal framework of the Federal Audit Oversight Authority is found in the Auditor Oversight Act (AOA). As a federal institution in the area of economic and safety supervision, the FAOA has increased autonomy; its strategic objectives are defined by its Board of Directors and approved by the Federal Council. Fees are levied in accordance with Article 37 et seq. of the Auditor Oversight Ordinance (AOO) and the General Fees Ordinance (GFeeO).

Identitas (EAER)
The organisational legal framework of the Swiss Animal Tracing Database is found in the Ordinance on the Trade in Livestock Database (TLD Ordinance). The fees are levied in accordance with the Ordinance on Animal Movement Fees (FeeO-AM) and the General Fees Ordinance (GFeeO).

Pro Helvetia (FDHA)
The organisational legal framework of the Pro Helvetia foundation is set out in the Culture Promotion Act. The Federal Council manages the foundation according to strategic objectives. The Subsidies Ordinance has governed the awarding of grants by Pro Helvetia since 2012.

Swiss Export Risk Insurance SERV (EAER)
The organisational legal framework of the SERV is the Export Risk Insurance Act (SERIA). The SERV is managed according to the strategic objectives of the Federal Council. The personnel regulations govern the employment conditions for SERV employees.

Swiss National Museum SNM (FDHA)
The organisational legal framework of the SNM is found in the Museums and Collections Act (MusCA). The Federal Council manages the museum according to strategic objectives. The SNM personnel regulations govern the employment conditions for SERV employees.

RUAG Holding AG (DDPS)
The legal framework of RUAG is found in the Federal Act on Federal Armaments Companies (FArmCA). The Federal Council manages RUAG according to strategic objectives.

Swiss Federal Railways SBB (DETEC)
The organisational legal framework of the SBB is the Federal Act on the Swiss Federal Railways. The Federal Council manages the SBB according to strategic objectives.

Swiss Agency for Therapeutic Products Swissmedic (FDHA)
The organisational legal framework of Swissmedic is found in the Therapeutic Products Act (TPA). The Federal Council manages Swissmedic by means of a service mandate (strategic objectives are expected to be in use from 2017). The employment conditions for Swissmedic employees are governed by the Personnel Ordinance of the Swiss Agency for Therapeutic Products. The Therapeutic Products Fees Ordinance regulates the fees charged by the authority.

Swiss Institute of Comparative Law SICL (FDJP)
The organisational legal framework of the SICL is the Federal Act on the Swiss Institute of Comparative Law. Although the SICL has legal personality, it operates as a unit of the central Federal Administration. Reporting on the SICL therefore takes place within the framework of the federal budget and financial statements (volume 2B, administrative unit 413). The employment conditions for SICL staff are governed by the Federal Personnel Ordinance. The Ordinance on the Fees charged by the Swiss Institute of Comparative Law regulates the fees it charges.

Swiss Post (DETEC)
The organisational legal framework of Swiss Post is the Post Organisation Act (POA). The Federal Council manages Swiss Post according to strategic objectives.

Skyguide (DETEC)
The legal framework of Skyguide is found in the Civil Aviation Act (CAA). The Confederation manages Skyguide according to strategic objectives. Fees are levied in accordance with the Ordinance on the Air Navigation Service.

Swisscom (DETEC)
The organisational legal framework of Swisscom is the Telecommunications Services Organisation Act (TSOA). The Federal Council manages Swisscom according to strategic objectives.

Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets SIFEM AG (EAER)
The legal framework of SIFEM is found in the Federal Act on International Development Co-operation and Humanitarian Aid and in the Ordinance issued on the basis of the Federal Act. The Federal Council manages the institution according to strategic objectives.

Innosuisse (SBFI)
The organisational legal framework of Innosuisse is set out in the Innosuisse Act (SIAA). The Federal Council manages Innosuisse according to strategic objectives. The employment conditions for staff are governed by the Innosuisse Personnel Ordinance. The Innosuisse Funding Ordinance sets out its funding measures. Fees and remuneration for members of the Innovation Council and for the Innosuisse experts are governed by the Remuneration Ordinance.

Last modification 04.06.2021

Top of page

https://www.efv.admin.ch/content/efv/en/home/themen/finanzpolitik_grundlagen/cgov/unternehmen_anstalten.html

Entreprises et établissements

La définition légale des entreprises et établissements de la Confédération pilotés par le Conseil fédéral selon les principes du rapport sur le gouvernement d’entreprise (principes directeurs (PDF, 47 kB, 01.09.2015), en matière de gouvernement d’entreprise), qu’il applique en sa qualité de propriétaire, figure à l’art. 8, al. 5, de la loi sur l’organisation du gouvernement et de l’administration. Sont visées selon cet article toutes les entités (1) qui ont une personnalité juridique, (2) qui n’appartiennent pas à l’administration fédérale centrale, (3) qui ont été créées  par la législation fédérale ou dont le capital et les voix sont détenus à titre majoritaire par la Confédération et (4) qui sont chargées de tâches administratives. A ces entités s’ajoute le domaine des EPF, qui n’a pas de personnalité juridique propre. Le portefeuille comprend aujourd’hui 19 entités, parmi lesquelles figurent non seulement des entreprises fournissant leurs prestations sur le marché, comme Swisscom ou RUAG, des établissements à caractère monopolistique, tels que le domaine des EPF, avec ses six institutions, ou l’Assurance suisse contre les risques à l’exportation (ASRE), mais aussi des entités assumant des tâches de surveillance de l’économie et de la sécurité, comme la FINMA ou l’Inspection fédérale de la sécurité nucléaire (IFSN). La liste ci-après énumère les différentes entités et comporte des liens vers les principales bases juridiques qui les régissent.

Domaine des EPF (DEFR)
Les bases juridiques de l'organisation du domaine des EPF se trouvent dans la loi sur les EPF. Le Conseil fédéral pilote ce domaine par le biais d'objectifs stratégiques (à partir de 2017, par le biais d’objectifs stratégiques). L'OPers-EPF régit les rapports de travail des collaborateurs du domaine, l'ordonnance sur le corps professoral des EPF les rapports de travail des enseignants des EPF et l'ordonnance sur le personnel scientifique de l’Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Zurich les rapports de travail des assistants et des collaborateurs scientifiques. Les bases concernant les taxes se trouvent dans l'ordonnance sur les taxes du domaine des EPF.

Institut fédéral des hautes études en formation professionnelle (IFFP) (DEFR)
Les bases juridiques de l'IFFP se trouvent à l'art. 48, al. 4 de la loi sur la formation professionnelle et dans l'ordonnance sur l'IFFP. Le Conseil fédéral pilote l'institut par le biais d'objectifs stratégiques. Ordonnance sur le personnel de l'IFFP régit les rapports de travail au sein de l'institut. Le règlement sur les émoluments de l'IFFP définit les émoluments prélevés par l’Institut fédéral des hautes études en formation professionnelle (IFFP) pour ses offres de formation et ses prestations.

Institut Fédéral de la Propriété Intellectuelle (IPI) (DFJP)
Les bases juridiques de l'IPI se trouvent dans la loi sur le statut et les tâches de l'Institut Fédéral de la Propriété Intellectuelle (LIPI) ainsi que l’ordonnance sur l’organisation de l’Institut Fédéral de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OIPI) constituent les bases juridiques de l’IPI. L'ordonnance sur le statut du personnel de l'Institut Fédéral de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OPer-IPI) régit les rapports de travail au sein de l'institut. L'ordonnance sur les taxes de l'Institut Fédéral de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OTa-IPI) s'applique aux taxes que l'IPI perçoit pour ses activités relevant de la souveraineté de l’Etat.

Institut fédéral de métrologie METAS (DFJP)
Les bases juridiques de l'institut se trouvent dans la loi sur l'Institut fédéral de métrologie (LIFM), qui est en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 2013. Le Conseil fédéral pilote METAS par le biais d'objectifs stratégiques.

Inspection fédérale de la sécurité nucléaire (IFSN) (DETEC)
Les bases juridiques de l'IFSN se trouvent dans la loi sur l'Inspection fédérale de la sécurité nucléaire (LIFSN). En tant qu’établissement fédéral chargé de la surveillance de l’économie et de la sécurité, l’IFSN bénéficie d’une autonomie accrue; ses objectifs stratégiques sont fixés par le conseil de l’IFSN. Le règlement du personnel de l'IFSN régit les rapports de travail des collaborateurs de l'IFSN. Le règlement sur les émoluments de l'Inspection fédérale de la sécurité nucléaire règle la perception des émoluments pour les décisions, les prestations et les activités de surveillance ainsi que des taxes de surveillance de l'IFSN.

Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA) (DFF)
Les bases juridiques de la FINMA se trouvent dans la loi sur la surveillance des marchés financiers (LFINMA). En tant qu’établissement fédéral chargé de la surveillance de l’économie et de la sécurité, la FINMA bénéficie d’une autonomie accrue; ses objectifs stratégiques, sont fixés par le conseil d’administration et approuvés par le Conseil fédéral. L'ordonnance sur le personnel de la FINMA régit les rapports de travail des collaborateurs de la FINMA. L'ordonnance sur les émoluments et les taxes de la FINMA (Oém-FINMA) règle la perception des émoluments et des taxes de surveillance de la FINMA.

Autorité fédérale de surveillance en matière de révision (ASR) (DFJP)
Les bases juridiques de l'ASR se trouvent dans la loi sur la surveillance de la révision (LSR). En tant qu’établissement fédéral chargé de la surveillance de l’économie et de la sécurité, l’ASR bénéficie d’une autonomie accrue; ses objectifs stratégiques sont fixés par le conseil d’administration et approuvés par le Conseil fédéral. La perception des émoluments est réglée aux art. 37 ss de l'ordonnance sur la surveillance de la révision (OSRev) et dans l'ordonnance générale sur les émoluments (OGEmol).

Identitas (DEFR)
Les bases juridiques d'Identitas se trouvent dans l'ordonnance concernant la banque de données sur le trafic des animaux (ordonnance sur la BDTA). La perception des émoluments est réglée dans l'ordonnance relative aux émoluments liés au trafic des animaux (OEmol-TA) et dans l'ordonnance générale sur les émoluments (OGEmol).

Pro Helvetia (DFI)
Les bases juridiques de la fondation Pro Helvetia se trouvent dans la loi sur l'encouragement de la culture (LEC). Le Conseil fédéral pilote la fondation par le biais d’objectifs stratégiques. Depuis 2012, l'ordonnance sur les subventions de Pro Helvetia règle l’octroi de subventions de la part de la fondation.

Assurance suisse contre les risques à l'exportation (ASRE) (DEFR)
Les bases juridiques de l'ASRE se trouvent dans la loi sur l'Assurance suisse contre les risques à l'exportation (LASRE). Le Conseil fédéral pilote l'ASRE par le biais d'objectifs stratégiques. Le règlement du personnel de l'Assurance suisse contre les risques à l'exportation régit les rapports de travail des collaborateurs de l'ASRE.

Musée national suisse (MNS) (DFI)
Les bases juridiques du MNS se trouvent dans la loi sur les musées et les collections (LMC). Le Conseil fédéral pilote le musée par le biais d’objectifs stratégiques. Le règlement du personnel du MNS règle les rapports de travail des collaborateurs du MSN.

RUAG Holding AG (DDPS)
Les bases légales de RUAG se trouvent dans la loi sur les entreprises d'armement de la Confédération (LEAC). Le Conseil fédéral pilote RUAG par le biais d'objectifs stratégique.

Chemins de fer fédéraux (CFF) (DETEC)
Les bases juridiques des CFF se trouvent dans la loi sur le Chemins de fer fédéraux (LCFF). Le Conseil fédéral pilote les CFF par le biais d'objectifs stratégiques.

Institut suisse des produits thérapeutiques Swissmedic (DFI)
Les bases juridiques de Swissmedic se trouvent dans la loi sur les produits thérapeutiques (LPTh). Le Conseil fédéral pilote Swissmedic par le biais d'un mandat de prestations (probablement à partir de 2017, par le biais d’objectifs stratégiques). L'ordonnance sur le personnel de l'Institut suisse des produits thérapeutiques régit les rapports de travail des collaborateurs de Swissmedic. L'ordonnance sur les émoluments des produits thérapeutiques (OEPT) règle la perception des émoluments par l'institut.

Institut suisse de droit comparé (ISDC) (DFJP)
Les bases juridiques de l'ISDC se trouvent dans la loi sur l'Institut suisse de droit comparé. L’ISDC a, certes, une personnalité juridique, mais tient ses comptes en tant qu’unité de l’administration fédérale centrale. La présentation des comptes de l’ISDC s’effectue donc dans le cadre du budget et du compte de la Confédération (tome 2B, unité administrative 413). L'ordonnance sur le personnel de la Confédération (OPers) régit les rapports de travail des collaborateurs de l'ISDC. L'ordonnance sur les émoluments de l'Institut suisse de droit comparé règle la perception des émoluments par l'ISDC.

La Poste Suisse (DETEC)
Les bases juridiques de la Poste se trouvent dans la loi sur l'organisation de la Poste (LOP). Le Conseil fédéral pilote la Poste par le biais d'objectifs stratégiques.

Skyguide (DETEC)
Les bases juridiques de Skyguide se trouvent dans la loi sur l'aviation (LA). Le Conseil fédéral pilote Skyguide par le biais d'objectifs stratégiques. L'ordonnance sur le service de la navigation aérienne (OSNA) règle la perception des émoluments par Skyguide.

Swisscom (DETEC)
Les bases juridiques de Swisscom se trouvent dans la loi sur l'entreprise de télécommunications (LET). Le Conseil fédéral pilote Swisscom par le biais d'objectifs stratégiques.

Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets SIFEM AG (DEFR)
Les bases juridiques de la SIFEM se trouvent dans la loi sur la coopération au développement et l'aide humanitaire internationales et dans l'ordonnance correspondante. Le Conseil fédéral pilote la société par le biais d’objectifs stratégiques.

Innosuisse (SEFRI)
Les principes d’organisation d’Innosuisse sont définis dans la loi sur Innosuisse (LASEI). Le Conseil fédéral pilote Innosuisse par le biais d’objectifs stratégiques. Les rapports de travail des collaborateurs sont régis par l’ordonnance sur le personnel d’Innosuisse. L’ordonnance sur les contributions d’Innosuisse définit les instruments d’encouragement d’Innosuisse. Les honoraires et rémunérations des membres du Conseil de l’innovation et des experts sont régis par l’ordonnance sur les indemnités d’Innosuisse.

Dernière modification 23.08.2019

Début de la page

https://www.efv.admin.ch/content/efv/fr/home/themen/finanzpolitik_grundlagen/cgov/unternehmen_anstalten.html