Companies and institutions

The legal definition of those federal companies and institutions that the Federal Council manages in accordance with the ownership policy principles of the Corporate Governance Report (CG guidelines (PDF, 138 kB, 04.06.2021)) can be found in Article 8 paragraph 5 of the Government and Administration Organisation Act. This includes all those units which (1) have legal personality, (2) are not part of the central Federal Administration, (3) are controlled by the Confederation by virtue of its capital and voting rights or were created under federal legislation and (4) are delegated to perform federal administrative duties; in addition, there is the ETH Domain, which has no legal personality of its own. In concrete terms, this portfolio currently comprises 19 units, including market service providers such as Swisscom and RUAG, monopoly service providers such as the ETH Domain and Swiss Export Risk Insurance SERV, as well as institutions responsible for economic and safety supervision such as FINMA and ENSI. The following list provides a complete overview with web links to the main legal framework of the individual units.

ETH Domain (EAER)
The organisational legal framework is found in the ETH Act. The ETH Domain is managed according to the strategic objectives of the Federal Council. The basic principles of employment for employees of the ETH Domain are regulated in the ETH Personnel Ordinance. The ETH Professorial Ordinance regulates the employment conditions for the ETH teaching staff. The employment conditions for assistants and scientific employees are found in the Ordinance governing scientific employees of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich.
The basic principles regarding fees can be found in the Fees Ordinance of the ETH Domain.

Swiss Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (SFIVET) (EAER)
The organisational legal framework of the SFIVET is found in Article 48 paragraph 4 of the Vocational and Professional Education and Training Act and in the SFIVET Ordinance. The Federal Council manages the SFIVET according to strategic objectives. The SFIVET Personnel Ordinance governs employment conditions at the SFIVET. The SFIVET Fees Ordinance defines the fees charged by the SFIVET for its training courses and services.

Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property (IPI) (FDJP)
The Federal Act on the Statutes and Tasks of the Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property (IPI) and the Organisation Ordinance (IPI-OO) form the organisational legal framework of the IPI. The basic principles of employment are found in the Ordinance on the Staff Charter of the Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property (IPI-SCO). The Fees Ordinance of the Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property applies to fees charged by the Institute for its sovereign activities.

Federal Institute of Metrology (METAS) (FDJP)
The organisational legal framework of the Institute is the Federal Act on the Federal Institute of Metrology, which has been in force since 1 January 2013. The Federal Council manages the Institution according to strategic objectives.

Swiss Federal Nuclear Safety Inspectorate ENSI (DETEC)
The organisational legal framework of the ENSI is the Federal Act on the Swiss Federal Nuclear Safety Inspectorate (ENSIA). As a federal institution in the area of economic and safety supervision, the ENSI has increased autonomy; its strategic objectives are defined by the ENSI Board. The ENSI Personnel Regulations govern the employment conditions for ENSI employees. The ENSI Fees Ordinance governs the fees for ENSI's decrees, services, supervisory activities and supervisory duties.

Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority FINMA (FDF)
The organisational legal framework is found in the Financial Market Supervision Act FINMASA. As a federal institution in the area of economic and safety supervision, FINMA has increased autonomy; its strategic objectives are defined by its Board of Directors and approved by the Federal Council. The employment conditions for FINMA employees are governed by the FINMA Personnel Ordinance. The FINMA Fees and Levies Ordinance governs the collection of fees and supervisory levies by FINMA.

Federal Audit Oversight Authority (FDJP)
The organisational legal framework of the Federal Audit Oversight Authority is found in the Auditor Oversight Act (AOA). As a federal institution in the area of economic and safety supervision, the FAOA has increased autonomy; its strategic objectives are defined by its Board of Directors and approved by the Federal Council. Fees are levied in accordance with Article 37 et seq. of the Auditor Oversight Ordinance (AOO) and the General Fees Ordinance (GFeeO).

Identitas (EAER)
The organisational legal framework of the Swiss Animal Tracing Database is found in the Ordinance on the Trade in Livestock Database (TLD Ordinance). The fees are levied in accordance with the Ordinance on Animal Movement Fees (FeeO-AM) and the General Fees Ordinance (GFeeO).

Pro Helvetia (FDHA)
The organisational legal framework of the Pro Helvetia foundation is set out in the Culture Promotion Act. The Federal Council manages the foundation according to strategic objectives. The Subsidies Ordinance has governed the awarding of grants by Pro Helvetia since 2012.

Swiss Export Risk Insurance SERV (EAER)
The organisational legal framework of the SERV is the Export Risk Insurance Act (SERIA). The SERV is managed according to the strategic objectives of the Federal Council. The personnel regulations govern the employment conditions for SERV employees.

Swiss National Museum SNM (FDHA)
The organisational legal framework of the SNM is found in the Museums and Collections Act (MusCA). The Federal Council manages the museum according to strategic objectives. The SNM personnel regulations govern the employment conditions for SERV employees.

RUAG Holding AG (DDPS)
The legal framework of RUAG is found in the Federal Act on Federal Armaments Companies (FArmCA). The Federal Council manages RUAG according to strategic objectives.

Swiss Federal Railways SBB (DETEC)
The organisational legal framework of the SBB is the Federal Act on the Swiss Federal Railways. The Federal Council manages the SBB according to strategic objectives.

Swiss Agency for Therapeutic Products Swissmedic (FDHA)
The organisational legal framework of Swissmedic is found in the Therapeutic Products Act (TPA). The Federal Council manages Swissmedic by means of a service mandate (strategic objectives are expected to be in use from 2017). The employment conditions for Swissmedic employees are governed by the Personnel Ordinance of the Swiss Agency for Therapeutic Products. The Therapeutic Products Fees Ordinance regulates the fees charged by the authority.

Swiss Institute of Comparative Law SICL (FDJP)
The organisational legal framework of the SICL is the Federal Act on the Swiss Institute of Comparative Law. Although the SICL has legal personality, it operates as a unit of the central Federal Administration. Reporting on the SICL therefore takes place within the framework of the federal budget and financial statements (volume 2B, administrative unit 413). The employment conditions for SICL staff are governed by the Federal Personnel Ordinance. The Ordinance on the Fees charged by the Swiss Institute of Comparative Law regulates the fees it charges.

Swiss Post (DETEC)
The organisational legal framework of Swiss Post is the Post Organisation Act (POA). The Federal Council manages Swiss Post according to strategic objectives.

Skyguide (DETEC)
The legal framework of Skyguide is found in the Civil Aviation Act (CAA). The Confederation manages Skyguide according to strategic objectives. Fees are levied in accordance with the Ordinance on the Air Navigation Service.

Swisscom (DETEC)
The organisational legal framework of Swisscom is the Telecommunications Services Organisation Act (TSOA). The Federal Council manages Swisscom according to strategic objectives.

Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets SIFEM AG (EAER)
The legal framework of SIFEM is found in the Federal Act on International Development Co-operation and Humanitarian Aid and in the Ordinance issued on the basis of the Federal Act. The Federal Council manages the institution according to strategic objectives.

Innosuisse (SBFI)
The organisational legal framework of Innosuisse is set out in the Innosuisse Act (SIAA). The Federal Council manages Innosuisse according to strategic objectives. The employment conditions for staff are governed by the Innosuisse Personnel Ordinance. The Innosuisse Funding Ordinance sets out its funding measures. Fees and remuneration for members of the Innovation Council and for the Innosuisse experts are governed by the Remuneration Ordinance.

Last modification 04.06.2021

Top of page

https://www.efv.admin.ch/content/efv/en/home/themen/finanzpolitik_grundlagen/cgov/unternehmen_anstalten.html

Unternehmen und Anstalten

Die gesetzliche Definition jener Unternehmen und Anstalten des Bundes, die der Bundesrat nach den eignerpolitischen Grundsätzen des Corporate Governance-Berichts (CG-Leitsätze (PDF, 45 kB, 01.09.2015)) steuert, findet sich in Artikel 8 Absatz 5 des Regierungs- und Verwaltungsorganisationsgesetzes. Demgemäss fallen all jene Einheiten darunter, die (1) Rechtspersönlichkeit haben, (2) nicht der zentralen Bundesverwaltung angehören, (3) vom Bund kapital- und stimmenmässig beherrscht werden oder durch die Bundesgesetzgebung geschaffen worden sind und (4) mit Verwaltungsaufgaben betraut sind; hinzu kommt der ETH-Bereich, der selbst keine Rechtspersönlichkeit innehat. Konkret umfasst dieses Portfolio heute 19 Einheiten, darunter Dienstleister am Markt wie Swisscom oder RUAG, Dienstleister mit Monopolcharakter wie der ETH-Bereich oder die Eidg. Exportrisikoversicherung SERV sowie Anstalten der Wirtschafts- und Sicherheitsaufsicht wie die FINMA oder das ENSI. Eine vollständige Übersicht mit Weblinks auf die wichtigsten rechtlichen Grundlagen der einzelnen Einheiten gibt die nachfolgende Liste.

ETH-Bereich (WBF)
Die organisationsrechtliche Grundlage finden sich im ETH-Gesetz. Der ETH-Bereich wird über strategische Ziele des Bundesrates gesteuert. Die Grundlagen der Arbeitsverhältnisse der Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des ETH-Bereichs werden in der PVO-ETH geregelt. Die Professorenverordnung ETH regelt die Arbeitsverhältnisse des Lehrkörpers der ETH. Die Grundlagen der Arbeitsverhältnisse von Assistentinnen und Assistenten und wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter finden sich in der Verordnung über das wissenschaftliche Personal der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule Zürich. Die Grundlagen bezüglich Gebühren finden sich in der Gebührenverordnung ETH-Bereich.

Eidgenössisches Hochschulinstitut für Berufsbildung EHB (WBF)
Die organisationsrechtlichen Grundlagen des EHB finden sich in Art. 48 Abs. 4 Berufsbildungsgesetz und in der EHB-Verordnung. Der Bundesrat steuert das EHB über strategische Ziele. Die EHB-Personalverordnung regelt das Arbeitsverhältnisse am EHB. Das EHB-Gebührenreglement bestimmt die Gebühren, welche das EHB für seine Bildungsangebote und Dienstleistungen erhebt.

Eidgenössisches Institut für Geistiges Eigentum IGE (EJPD)
Das Bundesgesetz über Statut und Aufgaben des Eidgenössischen Instituts für Geistiges Eigentum (IGEG ) sowie die Organisationsverordnung (IGE-OV) sind die organisationsrechtlichen Grundlagen des IGE. Die Grundlagen der Arbeitsverhältnisse finden sich in der Verordnung über das Statut des Personals des Eidgenössischen Instituts für Geistiges Eigentum (IGE-PersV). Die GebV-IGE des Eidgenössischen Instituts für Geistiges Eigentum (IGE-GebO) gilt für Gebühren, die das Institut für seine hoheitliche Tätigkeit erhebt.

Eidgenössisches Institut für Metrologie METAS (EJPD)
Die organisationsrechtliche Grundlage des Instituts bildet das Bundesgesetz über das Eidgenössische Institut für Metrologie (EIMG), das seit 1.1.2013 in Kraft ist. Der Bundesrat steuert die Institution über strategische Ziele.

Eidgenössisches Nuklearsicherheitsinspektorat ENSI (UVEK)
Die organisationsrechtliche Grundlage des ENSI ist das Bundesgesetz über das Eidgenössische Nuklearsicherheitsinspektorat (ENSIG). Als Bundesanstalt im Bereich der Wirtschafts- und Sicherheitsaufsicht verfügt das ENSI über erhöhte Autonomie, seine strategischen Ziele werden vom ENSI-Rat festgelegt. Das ENSI-Personalreglement regelt die Arbeitsverhältnisse der Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des ENSI. Die Gebührenverordnung ENSI regelt die Gebühren für Verfügungen, Dienstleistungen, Aufsichtstätigkeit und Aufsichtsabgaben des ENSI.

Eidgenössische Finanzmarktaufsicht FINMA (EFD)
Die organisationsrechtliche Grundlage der FINMA ist das Finanzmarktaufsichtsgesetz FINMAG. Als Bundesanstalt im Bereich der Wirtschafts- und Sicherheitsaufsicht verfügt die FINMA über erhöhte Autonomie, ihre strategischen Ziele werden vom Verwaltungsrat festgelegt und vom Bundesrat genehmigt. Die FINMA-Personalverordnung regelt die Arbeitsverhältnisse der Mitarbeitenden der FINMA. Die FINMA-Gebühren- und Abgabenverordnung (FINMA-GebV) regelt die Erhebung von Gebühren und Aufsichtsabgaben durch die FINMA.

Eidgenössische Revisionsaufsichtsbehörde (EJPD)
Die organisationsrechtliche Grundlage der Eidgenössischen Revisionsaufsichtsbehörde findet sich im Revisionsaufsichtsgesetz (RAG). Als Bundesanstalt im Bereich der Wirtschafts- und Sicherheitsaufsicht verfügt die RAB über erhöhte Autonomie, ihre strategischen Ziele werden vom Verwaltungsrat festgelegt und vom Bundesrat genehmigt. Die Gebührenerhebung richtet sich nach Art. 37 ff. Revisionsaufsichtsverordnung (RAV) und der Allgemeinen Gebührenverordnung (AllgGebV).

Identitas (WBF)
Die organisationsrechtlichen Grundlagen der schweizerischen Tierverkehrsdatenbank Identitas finden sich in der Verordnung über die Tierverkehrsdatenbank TVD-Verordnung. Die Gebührenerhebung richtet sich nach der Verordnung über die Gebühren für den Tierverkehr (GebV-TVD) und nach der Allgemeinen Gebührenverordnung (AllgGebV).

Pro Helvetia (EDI)
Die organisationsrechtlichen Grundlagen der Stiftung «Pro Helvetia» sind im Kulturförderungsgesetz verankert. Der Bundesrat steuert die Stiftung mit strategischen Zielen. Seit 2012 regelt die Beitragsverordnung (BVO) die Gewährung von Förderbeiträgen durch die Pro Helvetia.

Schweizerische Exportrisikoversicherung SERV (WBF)
Die organisationsrechtliche Grundlage der SERV bildet das Exportrisikoversicherungsgesetz (SERVG). Die SERV wird mit strategischen Zielen des Bundesrates gesteuert. Das Personalreglement regelt die Arbeitsverhältnisse der Mitarbeitenden der SERV.

Schweizerisches Nationalmuseum SNM (EDI)
Die organisationsrechtliche Grundlage des SNM findet sich im Museums- und Sammlungsgesetz (MSG). Der Bundesrat steuert das Museum mit strategischen Zielen. Das SNM-Personalreglement regelt die Arbeitsverhältnisse der Mitarbeitenden des SNM.

RUAG Holding AG (VBS)
Die rechtliche Grundlage der RUAG findet sich im Bundesgesetz über die Rüstungsunternehmen des Bundes (BGRB). Der Bundesrat führt die RUAG über strategische Ziele.

Schweizerische Bundesbahnen SBB (UVEK)
Die organisationsrechtliche Grundlage der SBB bildet das SBB-Gesetz. Der Bundesrat führt die SBB über strategische Ziele.

Schweizerisches Heilmittelinstitut Swissmedic (EDI)
Die organisationsrechtliche Grundlage der Swissmedic findet sich im Heilmittelgesetz (HMG). Der Bundesrat führt Swissmedic über einen Leistungsauftrag (voraussichtlich ab 2017 über strategische Ziele). Die Verordnung über das Personal des Schweizerischen Heilmittelinstituts regelt die Arbeitsverhältnisse der Mitarbeitenden von Swissmedic. Die Heilmittel-Gebührenverordnung regelt die Gebührenerhebung durch das Institut.

Schweizerisches Institut für Rechtsvergleichung SIR (EJPD)
Die organisationsrechtliche Grundlage des SIR bildet das Bundesgesetz über das Schweizerische Institut für Rechtsvergleichung. Das SIR verfügt zwar über Rechtspersönlichkeit, führt aber seine Rechnung als Einheit der zentralen Bundesverwaltung. Die Berichterstattung über das SIR erfolgt daher im Rahmen von Voranschlag und Rechnung des Bundes (Band 2B, Verwaltungseinheit 413). Die Anstellungsverhältnisse der Mitarbeitenden des SIR richtet sich nach der Bundespersonalverordnung. Die Verordnung über die Gebühren des Schweizerischen Instituts für Rechtsvergleichung regelt die Gebührenerhebung durch das Institut.

Die Schweizerische Post (UVEK)
Die organisationsrechtliche Grundlage der Post bildet das Postorganisationsgesetz (POG). Der Bundesrat führt die Post über strategische Ziele.

Skyguide (UVEK)
Die rechtliche Grundlage von Skyguide findet sich im Luftfahrtgesetz (LFG). Der Bund führt Skyguide über strategische Ziele. Die Gebührenerhebung richtet sich nach der Verordnung über den Flugsicherungsdienst.

Swisscom (UVEK)
Die organisationsrechtliche Grundlage von Swisscom bildet das Telekommunikationsunternehmungsgesetz (TUG). Der Bundesrat steuert die Swisscom über strategische Ziele.

Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets SIFEM AG (WBF)
Die rechtliche Grundlage der SIFEM findet sich im Bundesgesetz über die internationale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und humanitäre Hilfe und in der gestützt auf das Bundesgesetz erlassenen Verordnung. Der Bundesrat steuert die Gesellschaft über strategische Ziele.

Letzte Änderung 02.06.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.efv.admin.ch/content/efv/de/home/themen/finanzpolitik_grundlagen/cgov/unternehmen_anstalten.html